MMJ Certification: Getting Certified by a Medical Marijuana Doctor
At Compassionate Certification Centers, we aim to help you discover the potential health benefits of medical marijuana. To do so, we give you the support you need to get your own medical marijuana card. For more guidance and support, give us a call at 888-316-9085 or fill out our form.
Learn more about MMJ certification from the experts
Medical marijuana is now legal in 36 states in the United States. To legally purchase and use medical marijuana in these states, however, you still need the proper documentation in order. To do so, you need to start by applying for a medical marijuana (MMJ) card and visiting a registered doctor who can certify you.
Which doctors can legally prescribe medical marijuana?
In the state of Pennsylvania, only a doctor who is registered under the state’s medical marijuana program can legally prescribe medical marijuana.
These doctors will only recommend it as a treatment if the patient has a medical condition that qualifies for and can benefit from medical marijuana.
Aside from being registered under Pennsylvania’s medical marijuana program, medical practitioners also commit to the following.
- They keep all information regarding the patient’s certifications strictly confidential.
- The doctor provides the patient with the certification, but the MMJ card is issued by the Department of Health.
- They don’t accept remuneration for the MMJ certification. They only charge a fee for carrying out the examination required to determine if an individual qualifies for medical marijuana.
- They are, by law, prohibited from advertising that they can certify medical marijuana usage.
Which forms of medical marijuana are prescribed in Pennsylvania?
Doctors will only recommend certain forms of medical marijuana that are legal in Pennsylvania. It should be noted that the forms of medical marijuana allowed may be different in other parts of the country as per state law. These include:
Frequently Asked Questions
Can my Pennsylvania MMJ card be used out of state?
Yes, it can, but only in certain states. These states include:
- New Hampshire
- Rhode Island
- Washington D.C.
How long are MMJ cards valid for?
MMJ cards are valid for one year after the day they are issued.
How much does an MMJ card cost in Pennsylvania?
At Compassionate Certification Centers, we certify new patients for $150 and $125 for returning patients.