What are the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Arizona?
If you are suffering or in severe and chronic pain due to any of the following conditions, you will qualify for a medical marijuana card:
- Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
- Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s Disease
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or the treatment for a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that causes:
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Severe and chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
What type of medical records do I need?
We ask that you bring any medical records that are dated within the previous 12 months outlining or explaining any visits to your physician or doctor pertaining directly to your qualifying condition; Chart, SOAP, or progress notes that describe a condition that the state will certify for. They must be signed and dated by a doctor and have a treatment plan.
What protections will the medical marijuana card provide to the patient?
Proposition 203 generally provides that any person who acts in conformity with the requirements of the proposition is not to be subjected to any governmentally imposed sanction relating to the medical use of marijuana.
This proposition will prohibit certain discriminatory practices, including:
- A school or landlord will not be able to refuse to enroll or lease to a person registered pursuant to this proposition unless failing to do so would cause the school or landlord to lose a monetary or licensing benefit under federal law;
- An employer will not be able to discriminate against a person registered pursuant to this proposition in hiring, terminating, or imposing employment conditions unless failing to do so would cause the employer to lose a monetary or licensing benefit under federal law; and
- An employer will not be able to penalize a qualifying patient registered pursuant to this proposition for a positive drug test for marijuana, unless the patient used, possessed, or was impaired by marijuana on the employment premises or during hours of employment.
Who can be my designated caregiver?
The designated caregiver can be anyone over 21 who does not have an excluded felony offense and agrees to assist the qualifying patient with the qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana. A designated caregiver does not have to be a home health aide or other professional caregiver.
How long does it take to get my Arizona medical marijuana card?
Arizona’s new Digital Marijuana Cards are delivered via e-mail and will be ready for use in 5-7 business days!
How many caregivers may I have?
A qualifying patient may designate only one individual to assist the qualifying patient with the use of medical marijuana. This designation does not affect the ability of the qualifying patient to use other caregivers to assist the qualifying patient with the administration of other medications, activities of daily living, home health care, or other tasks.
Can I grow my own marijuana?
Prior to Proposition 207, patients needing special strains, or those living more than 25 miles from a dispensary could grow their own. The growing limit for those patients is 12 plants, and they must be grown in a locked growing facility. Patients that qualify for growing are supposed to notify the Arizona Department of Health.
Recently, however, with the passage of Proposition 207 on November 3, 2020, the people of Arizona voted to legalize adult-use recreational marijuana. They also voted for the right to grow, making it legal to cultivate up to six plants in this state. A household may have up to 12 plants. It’s also legal to transfer (not sell) up to an ounce of marijuana.
The guidelines around where and how you can grow are still being developed, but cannabis restrictions are always evolving. Compassionate Certification Centers will provide updates as the regulations become clearer for consumers.
What are the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Pennsylvania?
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Anxiety Disorders
- Cancer, including remission therapy
- Crohn’s Disease
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the central nervous system (brain-spinal cord) with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity and other associated neuropathies
- Dyskinetic and spastic movement disorders
- Huntington’s Disease
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Intractable Seizures
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Neurodegenerative Diseases
- Opioid Use Disorder
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Terminal Illness
- Tourette’s Syndrome
What do I need to have to qualify for a medical marijuana card in Pennsylvania?
All patients and caregivers must have proof of Pennsylvania residency in the form of a Pennsylvania driver’s license or a Pennsylvania state issued ID card with their current address. Patients and caregivers also must have a working email address.
A Compassionate Certification Center patient will have a prior medical record or records reviewed and have a medical condition which fits into one of the categories below. Our doctors are certified and specialized in cannabis.
Please request medical records from any doctor who sees you, urgent care centers or other proof showing you have a condition which requires medical marijuana and bring them with you. Unsure? Call our office at 888-316-9085 or email email@example.com to discuss with a trained medical professional.
Do not use another directory because you won’t find doctors who understand medical cannabis like we do anywhere else.
What medical documentation do I need to get certified for medical marijuana in Pennsylvania?
This is specific to the state of Pennsylvania and each state varies. We make this simple for you by using our form on the home page to upload your information. Once you have scheduled an appointment you should bring any medical records you have that show your diagnosis from any other doctors. If you do not have medical records, please contact our office or schedule an appointment so we can begin to document your medical history and exam so we can verify that you qualify for a Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana card through the PA Marijuana Program.
What if I don’t have insurance to go see the doctor?
Because of its Federal status, most insurances won’t cover cannabis products or the cost of certification. You don’t need to go back to see your doctor if you’ve already been diagnosed with one of the states qualifying conditions. Just request your medical records and bring them to your appointment with you. If you don’t know how to get those, we can help you. For information on cost of the appointment, cost of the card, CBD products, or for guidance any step of the way, just call one of our friendly cannabis consultants at 888-316-9085.
What should I do if I lose my medical marijuana card?
You can email RAfirstname.lastname@example.org
What exactly do I receive if I get my marijuana card in Pennsylvania from CCC?
You will receive a signed document that abides by the PA Department of Health Marijuana Program that you have a qualifying medical condition and you will receive the following:
- Educational materials
- Consultation from our certified and trained Pennsylvania marijuana doctors who will help educate you on the safety, storage and administration of the medication(s) you buy at the dispensary
What are the marijuana restrictions from employers when in the PA program?
Patient may not perform any employment duties at heights or in confined spaces including, but not limited to, mining while under the influence of marijuana.
Employers may prohibit patient from performing any task which the employer deems life-threatening, to either the employee or any of the employees of the employer, while under the influence of medical marijuana. The prohibition shall not be deemed an adverse employment decision even if the prohibition results in financial harm to the patient.
Nothing in the Pennsylvania Department of Health Act shall require an employer to make accommodation of the use of medical marijuana on the property or premises of any place of employment.
Nothing shall require an employer to commit any act that violate federal law in Pennsylvania
The Act does not limit an employer’s right to discipline an employee for being under the influence of medical marijuana in the workplace in Pennsylvania or for working under the influence of medical marijuana when the employee’s conduct falls below the standard of care normally accepted for that position under PA Medical Marijuana Laws.
What is the time frame that my medical records have to be in?
Within the last five years. However, there are certain exceptions to the rule.
What if I am having issues registering with the PA Department of Health?
The Department of Health requires that a patient uses a DESKTOP or LAPTOP to complete registration.
Make sure to check that you’ve entered everything from your valid PA state photo ID in to the form exactly as it showing (include all capital letters and check correct spacing and spelling for each line).
Be sure to also check that your ID is not expired or due to expire within the next 30 days. If it is expired or is due to within 30 days you will need to have your ID renewed before proceeding with Department of Health MMJ registration.
Have you moved or changed your address recently? Be sure to enter the address that is currently on file with PENNdot. This might be available in the form of a change of address card. Alternatively, you can view exactly how your address is listed on file with PENNdot by visiting their website and logging in to the “ID and Vehicle services” section using your ID/DL number as well as date of birth and last 4 digits of your social security number.
If you currently have, or have held a CDL driver’s license you are NOT exempt from being certified through us. You will simply need to be manually registered via the Department of Health’s patient support team (see below)
If you are a patient of ours, have reviewed the information above and you are still unable to get registered with the Dept. of Health, CCC is still happy to assist. You can email us at email@example.com with the following: A scan/copy/picture of your current photo ID or change of address card, as well as your full name in the subject line of the email. Please include a message stating that you require assistance with Department of Health registration and please include any relevant information regarding any of the above information.
Will I lose time if I renew my medical marijuana card early?
You can be seen 60 days before expiration and your card will be postdated.
Will I get a mark on my driver's license for being prescribed to medical marijuana?
There is no mark on your driver’s license! NO ONE will be able to determine your medical status by looking at your driver’s license. It is HIPAA protected health information! Laws in PA prohibit you to drive if using marijuana, and if they want a blood test you unfortunately could get in trouble. There is actually some reform regarding this happening, which you can check out here.
If you have a card and aren’t intoxicated at the time of any encounter with law enforcement officials…they likely won’t go that far. To minimize risk, drive smart! Be responsible about your THC content and reasonable with yourself about potential impairment. Don’t forget about your CBD options too!
Will I lose my job if I have a medical marijuana card in Pennsylvania?
Your employer decides the policies on medical marijuana use, it is up to them to determine this. If unsure, you may wish to seek legal counsel or direction from your company’s human resource department. Legal counsel that specializes in this area of law can be found at www.cannabislegalsolutions.net.
Will I lose my CDL license if I become a patient?
You do not automatically lose your CDL by default when you obtain a medical marijuana card. However, most jobs that require a CDL do not allow their employees to use medical marijuana. There are patients that have a CDL but do not use it, so they are able to obtain medical marijuana. The short answer is no.
Will there be other options to help pay for the doctor visit?
There are several programs including our own nonprofit which can offset the once a year doctor visit cost if someone financially cannot afford it. Those programs are mostly individual nonprofits which we will provide a list for.
Will I be drug tested in Pennsylvania at a Compassionate Certification Center?
No. Compassionate Certification Centers does not require a urine drug screen.
Will my insurance cover the costs of my evaluation, follow up, or other costs?
Insurance does not cover the cost of the visit in any of the 30 or more legalized states including Pennsylvania and insurance has never covered this cost since the first state legalized medical marijuana in California in 1996 through the Compassionate Care Act.
If additional assistance is required to cover the cost of the medication or to obtain medical records and follow up visits are required, we are able to bill insurance for non-medical marijuana related office visits or for the certification. We have a program to assist patients who have low income through our nonprofit. We are here to help patients receive this much needed medication in Pennsylvania and our goal is to help you if you qualify for the Pennsylvania medical marijuana card through the PA Department of Health’s program. We will help you along the way!
Will I lose my license and how do I know what to prescribe?
Laws vary by State, it is important that having access to the legal knowledge in our portal will help you stay compliant. A hand full of doctors have lost their licenses or have been reprimanded for practice without a license, or partaking in illegal activities such as fraudulent documents. Physicians cannot legally prescribe marijuana, they attest to the disease state the patient has, they do not prescribe in most states except New York. The Drug Enforcement Administration still classifies Marijuana as a Schedule I drug under the Controlled Substances Act. (Mark Crane, Doctors legal risks with medical marijuana, June 4, 2015)
Will there be enough medical marijuana for all approved patients and caregivers?
The department will be reviewing a number of factors to determine the placement of dispensaries across the state in order to ensure that medical marijuana is available for patients with serious medical conditions. The department will be conducting a full population study during the next six months that will include: (1) the location and number of patients suffering from serious medical conditions; and (2) their ability to access public transportation to get to a dispensary.
Where can I send my medical records?
Where will patients obtain a medical marijuana card in Pennsylvania?
The DOH sends your medical marijuana card directly to you in the mail. Please allow three weeks for your medical marijuana card to arrive. We can help you find a dispensary that is convenient for you in Pennsylvania, and our doctors will assist you in finding the right medication using our app that you will receive after your doctor visit.
Where will patients or caregivers obtain medical marijuana?
Registered patients or caregivers with an identification card issued by the department may purchase medical marijuana at an approved dispensary that has a valid permit from the department and is located in the commonwealth. The department may issue permits to up to 50 dispensaries across the state. Each dispensary may have up to three locations in the state from which to dispense medical marijuana.
Would Pennsylvania recognize my medical card from another state?
Would I lose my concealed-carry permit/right to own a gun?
We asked lawyer, Patrick K. Nightingale from Cannabis Legal Solutions, to clear this issue up for us. Here’s what he said: “Pennsylvania’s medical cannabis law provided for patient confidentiality in Section 302. Despite this statutory provision the patient database was made available to law enforcement via the JNET database at the end of December, 2017. After patients and activists raised serious concerns about the violation of patient confidentiality the patient registry was immediately removed from JNET.”
Would I be able to obtain a medical marijuana card if I have duel residency?
You have dual residency. If you provide proof of residency for Pennsylvania, then you can qualify for a Pennsylvania medical marijuana card. The states are not reciprocal with a Pennsylvania medical marijuana card. Only 7 states currently have reciprocity in the USA.
Who will be able to obtain medical marijuana if you are a parent whose child needs this or under 18?
Under the Medical Marijuana Program, patients who are residents of the commonwealth and have a serious medical condition as certified by a physician will be able to obtain medical marijuana at approved dispensaries that are located in the commonwealth and have a validly-issued permit from the department.
A “caregiver” who is designated by the patient and approved by the department will be able to obtain medical marijuana from an approved dispensary located in the commonwealth that has a validly-issued permit from the department in order for the caregiver to deliver medical marijuana to the patient.
Who will know if I get a medical marijuana card?
Individuals must get a doctor’s recommendation prior to getting a state-issued medical marijuana card. As with other medical records, this doctor visit and recommendation is private and protected under the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPPA). The HIPPA rule sets a national standard that strictly prohibits sharing of health information, unless it is needed for patient care and other important purposes. This means that your employer cannot access your medical records to learn that you have received a recommendation to use marijuana.
Let’s start with the issue of privacy at a doctor’s office or clinic, where you’ll get your recommendation. “Technically, a doctor’s recommendation for medical marijuana is very private, since HIPAA [the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act] makes it nearly impossible for even law enforcement to obtain private patient records,” wrote Joe Elford, staff lawyer for medical marijuana group Americans for Safe Access.
Why is the price for the doctor visit so high?
Doctor visits range from state to state with some states being $450 per visit and some being several times a year. Our price is average if not lower than most states, especially new states. We offer a diagnostic tool which no other state offers when patients see us, and this will save hundreds of dollars at the dispensary.
How much will this cost to see a medical marijuana doctor in Pennsylvania?
Initial doctor visits are $199, plus a small state fee of $50 once you qualify. Every year you need to return to Compassionate Certification Centers to obtain a re-certification for a new card. Insurance does not cover the cost of the visit in any of the 30 or more legalized states.
If additional assistance is required to cover the cost of the medication or to obtain medical records and follow up visits are required we are able to bill insurance for non-medical marijuana related office visits or for the certification. We have a program to assist patients who have low income through our non profit. We are here to help patients receive this much needed medication and our goal is to help you if you qualify for the Pennsylvania medical marijuana card through the PA Department of Health Program. We are here to help you throughout the entire process!
How do I approach my Pennsylvania doctor about medical marijuana?
Be as informed as possible about your potential treatments, their side effects and what you want to get out of your treatment. Your current doctor may or may not want to do the recommendation which is why Compassionate Certification Centers physicians are marijuana doctors trained in this field to specifically assist in this process. If you find your doctor is not open to medical marijuana as an option for you or you do not want to discuss it with your current physician, please make an appointment with one of our centers. We encourage patients to do what is best for them, their loved ones and their families. We are here to help you.
How do I set up an appointment with a PA marijuana doctor at one of your locations?
Visit our Locations page to find a Compassionate Certification Center near you. You can set up an appointment by calling our office at 888-316-9085 or emailing us at firstname.lastname@example.org. We will notify you when new locations open up in Pennsylvania for Medical Marijuana Doctors. You can also subscribe to the email newsletter and we will update you periodically when new Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Centers open.
How do I change my password on the PA DOH website?
Your password should be changed every 120 days or 4 months for security measures. To change your password:
- Visit www.medicalmarijuana.pa.gov
- Click “apply for ID card”
- Click “forgot your username or password?”
You will then be prompted to the “Login credentials assistance” page. Direct link: https://padohmmp.custhelp.com/app/utils/account_assistance
- Under “Reset my password” enter your username and click the option “reset my password”
- You will be sent a message to the email that the Dept. of Health has on file for you
- Click the link “reset my password” once again
- You will be prompted to page where you will be required to enter a new password twice.
- Once entered you will have successfully changed your password and be logged in to your account
- Log out once verifying correct information.
Can a patient with a medical condition in Pennsylvania receive medical marijuana if they are under 18?
Patients under 18 years old CAN be certified to use medical marijuana if they have any of the states qualifying conditions EXCEPT anxiety. They also must have a caregiver who is approved by the department of health in order to obtain medical marijuana. PA state law does not allow minors to certify for anxiety, if you have additional questions, please contact us at 888-316-9085.
All applicants will need:
- Pennsylvania Background check
- Completed electronic copy of the Safe Harbor Act Letter Form
- Legal guardians will need an electronic copy of their guardianship papers
- Caregivers will need an electronic copy of their caregiver status
- Spouses will need an electronic copy of their marriage certificate
Below is a list of some helpful forms to get you started:
- Pennsylvania Background Check (Instructions)
- Caregiver Application Status
- Safe Harbor Letter (Form)
- Safe Harbor Application Login
Can someone else obtain medical marijuana on behalf of a patient?
Yes. When a patient submits an application to the department for an identification card, he or she may designate up to two caregivers. Caregivers must undergo a criminal history background check, submit an application to the department for an identification card, and be registered with the department. The department will make applications for caregivers available on its website.
There is a $50 processing fee for caregiver applications, but the department may waive or reduce the fee if the applicant demonstrates financial hardship on the application.
Can a cargiver be designated by more than one patient?
Yes. A caregiver may be designated by up to five patients. Before obtaining medical marijuana for a patient, however, a caregiver must apply for and obtain a medical marijuana identification card and be registered with the department.
A patient can only designate 2 caregivers at the same time.
Can I obtain medical marijuana from out of state and transport it to PA while I wait for my card?
Only a minor under 18 years of age with a serious medical condition may obtain medical marijuana from another state through a parent, legal guardian, caregiver, or spouse. For up to two years following the effective date of the Act, Section 2106 of the Medical Marijuana Act provides that if a parent, legal guardian, caregiver or spouse of a minor under 18 years of age with a serious medical condition lawfully obtains medical marijuana from another state, territory or country to be administered to that minor, the parent, legal guardian, caregiver or spouse does not violate the Act, or the Pennsylvania Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act. The form of marijuana obtained in the other state must be in the form made lawful by Pennsylvania’s Medical Marijuana Program. Patients, parents, legal guardians, caregivers and spouses also must comply with the application and certification requirements of the Act, as developed by the department. The department intends to publish a temporary regulation regarding the implementation of Section 2106.
Neither Section 2106 nor the Act permits adult patients 18 years of age and older, or their caregivers, to obtain medical marijuana from another state. For adult patients 18 years of age and older, medical marijuana may only be obtained from a department-approved and permitted dispensary located in the commonwealth as permitted by the Act.
Can someone else obtain medical marijuana on behalf of a patient from a medical marijuana doctor?
Yes, when a patient visits a medical marijuana doctor at any one of our compassionate certification centers, he or she can designate up to two caregivers. Before obtaining medical marijuana at a dispensary for a patient, a caregiver must also apply for a medical marijuana identification card which we will help you do during your office visit. This is an easy process and we will assist you with this. The first step is to schedule an appointment with us at compassionate certification centers by filling out step 1 on the home page of this site, or calling 888-316-9085. Our Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Doctors, nurses and PA staff with help walk you through the process.
Can I get my medical marijuana card and own a gun?
Yes, we are allowed to certify you for your medical card if you are a gun owner. State laws do not prohibit you from owning a gun and having a medical card. You can also have the option to purchase CBD and not get a card.
If you have further questions and need legal counsel please go to www.cannabislegalsolutions.net as this is a comprehensive issue that legal counsel can answer.
Can I get my medical marijuana card and possess a gun?
Cannabis Legal Solutions can answer your questions in more detail however:
- No PA patient will be forced by the police to surrender firearms. PA law does not prohibit firearm possession for cannabis use;
- Firearm possession is prohibited under federal law whether the cannabis use is legal or not under state law. Case law shows there has never been a federal prosecution under such circumstances;
- A registered patient should be able to keep and obtain a concealed carry permit;
- A registered patient cannot purchase a firearm from a federally licensed firearms dealer.
For more detailed information go to www.cannabislegalsolutions.net
Can I write my patient a letter and this qualifies them for their medical card?
No, this does not meet the state’s criteria for a patient to qualify for their card. See the PA DOH website for the correct process or our online tutorial. You can refer your patients to a Compassionate Certification Center by having them contact us directly and ensuring they have their medical records with their diagnosis clearly listed. Medical records can also be faxed with a signed HIPAA release form to 888-316-9085 (however patients do not need a formal referral).
Do you require payment for the doctor visit before the scheduled appointment?
Do I need a referral from a marijuana doctor in Pennsylvania?
No, you can schedule an appointment with us to receive your certification, insurance does not cover cannabis appointments as its still considered federally illegal. We accept cash and any major credit cards for payment.
Have there been any recent changes to the PA DOH medical marijuana registration process?
As of May 2020, the Pennsylvania Department Of Health has made the following changes to the medical marijuana registration process for patients and caregivers:
- When registering, the only information that is now used to verify that a patient is a resident of Pennsylvania via PENNDOT is their identification card (ID) or driver’s license (DL) number.
- Any address within Pennsylvania that the patient wishes the card to be sent to can be input in to the registration form. Capital letters are no longer needed.
- After clicking ‘submit,’ the address that is submitted will be automatically be matched with what is on file with USPS. An option will be given to choose the correctly formatted address. After selecting the best match, the registration will be completed (e.g. username and password created).
- Expired identification cards and driver’s licenses can be renewed online without the need to visit the DMV. Follow the instructions provided on PENNDOT’s website for the renewal of identification cards and driver’s licenses. If a patient’s ID/DL is expired, then initial registrations and renewals of registrations WILL validate after this is completed.
- Existing caregivers can have unlimited patients attached to their accounts.
- Existing caregivers’ renewal fingerprinting has been waived. An existing caregiver is sent an email after clicking ‘renew registration,’ which notifies them that they can pay for their new caregiver card.
- As of July 30, 2020, you no longer have to “renew” your online registration with the Department of
Health. You’re still required to have your yearly visit to renew your certification, you can make payment 30 days
before your expiration date.
Can a state legally license the production and distribution of medical marijuana?
Currently, some states, including Colorado, Maine, and New Mexico license producers and distributors of medical cannabis. Several other states are considering or are in the process of enacting similar programs. The present administration has given mixed signals to lawmakers regarding whether the Department of Justice would seek sanctions against those involved with such programs. However, as of this writing, the federal government has yet to prosecute any individuals involved with the state-licensed production or distribution of medical cannabis in any state that has sanctioned such activities.
My doctor said he can write me a letter and that is all I need to get my card, is this true?
Letter from your physician alone does not certify you, you’ll need to bring it into your appointment at Compassionate Certification Centers in order to get your certification.
Are you providing telemedicine and telehealth services during the COVID pandamic?
Compassionate Certification Centers offering telemedicine and telehealth services to our new and existing patients. Contact us today at 888-316-9085 for more information.
Are SSI/SSD recipients exempt from the state fee of $50?
Patients who receive Medicaid, PACE/ PACENET, CHIP, SNAP and WIC are eligible to have the required $50 annual fee issued by the dept. of health to be reduced to $25. This is done by requesting a fee reduction before paying for your annual fee.
What are the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in West Virginia?
The statute defines a “serious medical condition” as any one of the following:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Chronic Pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
- Huntington’s Disease
- Intractable Seizures
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Terminal Illness
When will I receive my West Virginia medical marijuana card?
Within 30 days of application, if your application is approved.
Do I need a caregiver card to purchase medical marijuana for my child?
Patients under the age of 18 with a serious medical condition may obtain a West Virginia Marijuana Card through a caregiver. For patients under the age of 18, a caregiver may be a parent or legal guardian, a person designated by a parent or guardian, or an individual approved by the DHHR upon a sufficient showing that no parent or legal guardian is appropriate or available. The caregiver must undergo a criminal history background check, apply for an identification card, and be registered with the DHHR. The patient must also have a West Virginia Marijuana Card.
Can my employer still drug test me for marijuana if I am a patient?
Unfortunately, the answer is yes, they can. West Virginia does not provide protection to medical marijuana patients from employee drug testing. It will be left to the discretion of each employer whether they wish to recognize an employee’s medical marijuana approval as an exemption to company drug testing policies. However, employers are prohibited from discriminating against an individual in hiring, termination, or any term or condition of employment based on an individual’s past or present status as a caregiver or a qualifying patient.
What is CBD? How does it work?
CBD stands for cannabidiol. Cannabidiol actually reduces the psychological effects of medical marijuana. For most patients, a strain that has high THC and high cannabidiol will have fewer “mental” effects and more physical ones. High cannabidiol medical marijuana strains, like Blueberry and Harlequin, are especially effective for illnesses with strong physical symptoms.
What is CBN? How does it work?
CBN is cannabinol, not to be confused with Cannabidiol. Cannabinol is very similar to THC, but has less psychological effects. It is produced as THC breaks down within the medical marijuana plant. High THC will make cannabinol’s effects stronger, and very high cannabinol concentrations can produce undesirably strong head highs. Cannabinol levels tend to be high in medical marijuana strains like
For example, Strawberry Haze and Blue Rhino, which can be particularly helpful for:
- Lowering pressure in the eye (such as with glaucoma)
What is the difference between full-spectrum, broad-spectrum, and isolate CBD?
Full-spectrum CBD is a CBD extract that contains all compounds found naturally occurring in the cannabis plant including all cannabinoids, terpenes, and THC.
Broad-spectrum CBD is a CBD extract that contains all compounds found naturally occurring in the cannabis plant including all cannabinoids and terpenes, though excluding THC
CBD Isolate is the purest form of the compound that is created by removing all other compounds found in the cannabis plant including terpenes, essential oils, and other cannabinoids.
Why CCC? Why CBD?
CCC is physician owned and made up of certified medical cannabis doctors that are dedicated to helping patients get the medical cannabis care and treatment plans that they need. Additionally, Compassionate Certification Centers is here to offer assistance with both medical marijuana evaluations and certifications, as well as CBD consultations for all patients – regardless of if they have a qualifying condition or not.
CCC also offers a full line of medical grade CBD products that have been double lab-tested by a 3rd party, as well as by our suppliers and ourselves to ensure that you are receiving clean, high-quality CBD. CCC is also lead by healthcare professionals who understand compliance, have received the proper training, and are certified to meet state program rules and regulations.
Why should I get CBD at CCC as opposed to the dispensary?
CCC offers THC-Free CBD products derived from hemp that cannot be sold at dispensaries. While dispensaries often offer CBD/THC products these full-spectrum CBD products contain THC as well as it’s intoxicating effects, while the broad-spectrum THC-free CBD products offered through CCC do not. Additionally, dispensaries are only allowed to sell medical marijuana products, and you must have a medical marijuana card to purchase from dispensaries in the state of Pennsylvania.
Will I lose my guns if I buy CBD?
No, obtaining your medical marijuana card will not allow for law enforcement officials to take away your guns.
Cannabis Legal Solutions can answer your questions in more detail however:
1. No PA patient will be forced by the police to surrender firearms. PA law does not prohibit firearm possession for cannabis use;
2. Firearm possession is prohibited under federal law whether the cannabis use is legal or not under state law. Case law shows there has never been a federal prosecution under such circumstances;
3. A registered patient should be able to keep and obtain a concealed carry permit;
4. A registered patient cannot purchase a firearm from a federally licensed firearms dealer.
For more detailed information, please go to www.cannabislegalsolutions.net.
Will I pass a drug test on CBD?
CBD does not show up on a drug test as drug tests test for THC. Poor quality CBD or poorly managed CBD products however can possibly contain traceable amounts of THC above the legal limit of .003%, which can show up positive on a drug test. Because of this, it is imperative to only consume high quality products that have been third party lab tested, have a COA sheet, and have been proven to not contain amounts of THC that are over the legal limit.
Compassionate Certification Centers’ line of CBD products are triple lab tested for quality and guaranteed to be under the .003% THC limit, and therefore will not cause a patient to fail a urine screen. Always make sure the product is sourced from seed to shelf by a company you trust.
Will CBD make me high?
CBD, unlike THC, is a non-psychoactive phytocannabinoid and is actually the most common phytocannabinoid produced by hemp varieties of cannabis plants. Additionally, evidence suggests that CBD can even work to interfere with THC and CB1 receptors in the body, meaning that CBD can essentially work to reduce the high felt when exposed to THC so that at the end of the day not only does CBD not get you high, but it can actually work to reduce the elevated feeling caused by THC.
How much CBD do I need to take?
Typically dosed in milligrams, CBD must be titrated or adjusted to your own personal needs depending on a range of variables including but not limited to a patient’s size, condition, and severity as well as the method and frequency of administration. That said, a best practice guideline would be to start with a potentially small initial dose of around 10 to 15 milligrams twice daily (once in the morning and once again in the evening) to begin with, and then adjust accordingly moving forward.
It is important to note that dosages should be maintained for several days before increasing your dosage, and that different routes of administration may work better or worse for some patients depending on their condition. It is also important to note that there is no lethal dose of CBD, so there is no fear of taking too much – and effects will generally lessen and disappear within hours of administration.
Do I need a medical marijuana card to buy CBD?
If you’re interested in experiencing the many possible benefits of cannabidiol (CBD), you are free to do so without the requirement of a medical marijuana card. Federally legal and even able to be purchased online, cannabidiol is a separate cannabinoid derived from cannabis, and though it is a common misconception that you need a medical marijuana card in order to buy CBD, that is simply not the case.
CBD legislation, however, is a rapidly evolving landscape and subject to changes at any time. Check with your local and state laws before purchasing to be sure you are within legal boundaries. None of the CBD information provided by CCC should be perceived as legal advice.
Is CBD safe for children?
Although safe for all patients, we do recommend a CBD consultation with one of our doctors or nurses for patients under the age of 18 before beginning CBD treatment.
Can you explain the difference between the quality and quantity of CBD?
When shopping for CBD, opt for higher quality products from reputable vendors that have product information readily available, including extraction method, CBD/THC content, the source of the hemp, as well as whether it is full spectrum, broad spectrum, or ISO CBD. Additionally, high-quality brands will often pursue third-party laboratory testing that will provide you with a wealth of knowledge regarding their products.
In regard to quantity, a best practice guideline for CBD dosing would be to start with a potentially small initial dose of around 10 to 15 milligrams twice daily (once in the morning and once again in the evening) to begin with, and then adjust accordingly moving forward. There is no one size fits all answer when it comes to CBD, and experimentation and titration are the best ways to discover your optimal dose.
For patients that would like to combine CBD with their medical marijuana, varying CBD to THC ratios can also be considered to reach optimal therapeutic effect. Again, every patient’s situation is different and dosage will depend on a host of things including THC sensitivity, medical condition, and desired effect, experimenting with varying ratios can be effective. For example one patient may be sensitive to THC, and a higher CBD to THC ratio would be optimal, while a different patient may opt for a higher THC to CBD ratio in order to improve sleep. Again, experiment and discover what works best for you.
Are there any adverse effects or counterindications with CBD?
Smoking marijuana carries many of the same risks as smoking cigarettes and is not advisable. Because of the adverse health effects of smoking, other methods of ingesting marijuana are preferable, such as eating or vaporizing it. Also, patients with a history of heart disease, asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease or other disease of the airways, drug or alcohol abuse or dependence, or a serious mental disorder, such as schizophrenia should all consult their doctor before trying medical marijuana. You should also avoid marijuana if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, planning to get pregnant, or if you are allergic to any cannabinoid.
Additionally, some pain medications have been proven to be more effective in combination with marijuana. However, with all medication, different combinations can have unpredictable effects. You should always consult your doctor before combining any medications.
What is medical marijuana?
Medical marijuana is a prescription drug consisting of the dried buds of the female cannabis plant. The active ingredient is THC, a cannabinoid, which interacts with the system in the brain involved with pain transmission. Marijuana provides relief from several serious symptoms such as severe pain, chronic nausea, loss of appetite, muscle spasms and others.
What does 'combining strains' mean?
Alone, none of the five major cannabinoids are as effective as when they work together. These five cannabinoids also work with the minor compounds in marijuana, and this is probably one reason that medical marijuana replacements like Marinol do not work very well.
Professional medical marijuana growers can analyze their medical marijuana strains to breed and grow medication for patients with the desired range of levels of each major cannabinoid. Using this knowledge of what each compound does helps medical marijuana pharmacists, or budtenders, find the right combination for patients to treat specific conditions and find maximum relief.
What are the differences between Indica and Sativa?
There are two basic types of Cannabis plants, Sativa and Indica. Sativas are taller plants originating from Mexico, Columbia and Southeast Asia. Sativas usually have a higher THC content and cause a stimulating, uplifting effect. Indicas are shorter, dense plants originating from Afghanistan, Morocco, Tibet, etc. Indicas have a more sedative or relaxing effect and can be used for anxiety reduction. Within these two types of Cannabis exist many sub-types or strains of Sativa and Indica. Many of these strains are given seemingly odd or interesting names, usually based on a slang description.
What are the side effects of medical marijuana use?
The side effects of marijuana vary quite a bit among different strains of Cannabis and different people. Negative effects range from drowsiness and loss of focus to agitation leading to fear and paranoia. Such effects are temporary and go away within a few hours. Smoking marijuana carries many of the same risks as smoking cigarettes and is not advisable. Because of the adverse health effects of smoking, other methods of ingesting marijuana are preferable.
What doctors may and may not do?
In Conant v. Walters, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals held that the federal government could neither punish nor threaten a doctor merely for recommending the use of cannabis to a patient.[4, 5] But it remains illegal for a doctor to “aid and abet” a patient in obtaining cannabis. This means physicians and other medical professionals may discuss the pros and cons of medical cannabis with any patient, and recommend its use whenever appropriate. They may put that in writing or otherwise participate in state medical cannabis programs without fear of legal reprisal. This is true even when the recommending medical professional knows the patient will use the recommendation to obtain cannabis through a state program. What physicians may not do is provide cannabis directly to a patient or tell patients how or where to obtain it.
How do I prove to authorities that I am authorized to possess medical cannabis?
Your proof of “authorization to possess” can either be the label on the product packaging or a separate document from the licensed producer. This official document will accompany your initial shipment.
How much marijuana do you need to take and how often do you take it?
Medical marijuana prescriptions vary depending on the patient’s condition and the strain of marijuana. Your doctor can help you determine the right dosage for your situation. The average use of marijuana for medical purposes is from 1 to 3 grams per day. If you are just beginning to use marijuana, you should start with a small dose and increase it gradually until you reach a comfortable level. The limit set by the MMPR is 30 times the daily quantity of dried marijuana indicated by your doctor on your medical document OR 150 grams – whichever is less.
How does medical cannabis work?
From United Patients Group:
There are over 400 natural compounds in medical marijuana and, of these, eighty are only found in cannabis plants. These eighty special compounds are known as cannabinoids. Cannabinoids relieve symptoms of illness by attaching to receptors in the brain that look for similar compounds that occur in the human body, such as dopamine.
There are five major cannabinoids in medical marijuana that are particularly effective for relieving symptoms of illness, and each one produces different physical and psychological effects. This is why certain strains of medical marijuana are bred to have different amounts of each cannabinoid and are recommended for different conditions
THC stands for delta-9-tetrahydrocannibinol. It is probably the best known cannabinoid present in medical marijuana. Physically it acts as a muscle relaxant and anti-inflammatory and psychologically it acts as a stimulant. This makes medical marijuana strains high in THC a good choice for patients who need relief while also to remain alert and active.
How many states have enacted medical marijuana laws since 1996?
25 total states: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington. The District of Columbia have passed laws providing for limited legal protections from arrest for authorized patients who use cannabis with a doctor’s recommendation.
How does medical marijuana benefit your health?
Marijuana has been found valuable in the treatment of many illnesses and conditions throughout history. Although many of the benefits we hear about are anecdotal, a large global effort is underway to understand the medical benefits of marijuana using scientific and clinical approaches. The major benefits have been associated with reductions in pain, help with sleeping disorders, side-effects from pharmaceuticals or cancer treatments, and other symptom relief.
How do I find out if I can have a medical marijuana card and not risk my employment?
Reach out to your human resources representative to see if they have a policy in place or what their stance is on it. You can also reach out anonymously and get the answer as well.
How does one take medical marijuana?
There are many methods of ingesting marijuana including eating, drinking, vaporizing and smoking. We also have techniques and recipes for preparing marijuana in edible forms, in tinctures and for vaporization.
Is medical marijuana covered by my medical plan?
At this time most medical plans will not cover medical cannabis costs. If you are a veteran, you may have coverage through Veterans Affairs Canada. Medical cannabis is regulated under the Narcotic Control Regulations and the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, but it does not have a Drug Identification Number (DIN) which is required for provincial and third-party formularies (medical plans). Medical cannabis expenses can be claimed on your income tax return under the Medical Tax Credit.
If I have to take a drug screen, will they honor that I’m a medical marijuana patient?
A straight answer is no. No employer or doctor has to honor the medical marijuana card with marijuana still being federally illegal no one has to honor anything unfortunately.
Can you use marijuana while on other medications?
Some pain medications have been proven to be more effective in combination with marijuana. However, with all medication, different combinations can have unpredictable effects. You should always consult your doctor before combining any medications.
Is my information released since I have to register with the state?
There is no database for medical marijuana patients, it does not show up on background checks or in any police systems, you are protected by HIPAA.
May a legislature reschedule marijuana for medical purposes under state law?
Yes, although this is largely a symbolic gesture. Rescheduling marijuana statewide does not protect patients from criminal prosecution under federal law or allow doctors in that state to legally prescribe the drug.
Do I have to notify my employer that I’m a medical marijuana patient?
Should I be worried about addiction and withdrawl side effects?
The current statistic of a 9% addiction rate among cannabis users needs to be viewed from a certain perspective. If a product such as cannabis resolves an undiagnosed depression or anxiety, then we cannot use the term “addiction” when the patient resists removal or denial of a product that makes him/her feel better. The percentage of undiagnosed depression/anxiety in the general population has been quoted to be as high as 30% and cannabis has been shown to help this diagnosis in adults.
In my personal experience, withdrawal is rare, and simply represents the return of the underlying symptoms that existed well before marijuana was ever used. Even in the rare situation that might have been said to be a possible case of withdrawal, the symptoms of craving and agitation lasted only about 3 to 4 days and were not very uncomfortable. This is vastly different to narcotics, benzodiazepines or even antidepressants.
An incidental note here is that if you ask the average PTSD patient without chronic pain if they could see their life without medical cannabis, they will usually state that they would much rather not have need for any treatments, and that they would like to return to a life without any medical treatments at all, including cannabis.
Is it safe to use marijuana?
There have been no known cases of a lethal overdose of cannabis. DEA Chief Administrative Law Judge, Francis Young, in response to a petition to reschedule cannabis under federal law concluded in 1988 that, “In strict medical terms marijuana is far safer than many foods we commonly consume … Marijuana in its natural form is one of the safest therapeutically active substances known to man. By any measure of rational analysis marijuana can be safely used within the supervised routine of medical care.”
In addition, renowned forensic pathologist Cyril Wecht testified before the PA House Health Committee that he had never attributed a cause of death to “acute cannabinoid toxicity.” Cannabis’ LD 50 rating is so low that a human would be required to ingest 1500 pounds in a 15 minute period to risk a toxic overdose.
Is it safe to use medical cannabis?
There have been countless studies about the benefits of medical cannabis. Currently, it is being used to treat many illnesses; such as symptoms of PTSD, cancer, Alzheimer’s, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, glaucoma, chronic pain, arthritis, depression and many others. In addition, there has been no recorded deaths from cannabis use or abuse. If you are unsure about the benefits of medical cannabis, contact your physician to discuss it further.
Will smoking cannabis cause lung cancer?
I fully agree that smoking any product may increase the risk of lung and cardiovascular problems. The healthiest solution is to “vaporize” the product which is very effective and provides an almost equal response time as smoking, with the added advantages of a much more efficient use of the costly product. There is also lingering smell and the added advantages of a much more measured and controlled dose with the newer devices. The risk/benefit ratio is unknown.
Who should avoid marijuana?
Patients with a history of heart disease, asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease or other disease of the airways, drug or alcohol abuse or dependence, or a serious mental disorder, such as schizophrenia should all consult their doctor before trying medical marijuana. You should also avoid marijuana if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, planning to get pregnant, or if you are allergic to any cannabinoid.
Is marijuana legal?
Marijuana is still a controlled substance, and possession of marijuana for recreational purposes is a criminal offense. Marijuana is only legal when used by an authorized patient for medical purposes.
Can I fly with medical marijuana?
According to the TSA:
- Medical Marijuana
- Carry On Bags: Yes (Special Instructions)
- Checked Bags: Yes (Special Instructions)
Possession of marijuana and certain cannabis infused products, including some Cannabidiol (CBD) oil, remain illegal under federal law. TSA officers are required to report any suspected violations of law, including possession of marijuana and certain cannabis infused products.
Products/medications that contain hemp-derived CBD or are approved by the FDA are legal as long as it is produced within the regulations defined by the law under the Agriculture Improvement Act 2018.
TSA’s screening procedures are focused on security and are designed to detect potential threats to aviation and passengers. Accordingly, TSA security officers do not search for marijuana or other illegal drugs, but if any illegal substance is discovered during security screening, TSA will refer the matter to a law enforcement officer.
For more prohibited items, please go to the ‘What Can I Bring?’ page. The final decision rests with the TSA officer on whether an item is allowed through the checkpoint.
Are there alternative methods to using marijuana besides smoking?
Always store your marijuana in a cool, dry and above all SECURE place. Consider using a safe or other locked secure container to store your medicine. Ensure that any edible product is also well marked and secured against mistaken identity.