Reciprocity Laws for Medical Marijuana

medical marijuana symbol divider

Reciprocity laws are now being applied to medical marijuana (MMJ), which refers to one state’s recognition of the effect of another state’s law.

In legal terms, reciprocity refers to one state’s recognition of the effect of another state’s law, and the illustration usually given is driver’s licenses. For example, someone who has a valid Texas driver’s license can expect to be able to drive a car in Arizona, so long as he or she obeys Arizona traffic laws.

As more and more states legalize medical marijuana, a lot of patients are starting to wonder if their authorizations are valid in any states other than where they were first issued. This is becoming more widespread, and some medical marijuana-legal states do currently accept out-of-state authorizations and more have legislation out to do so.

We listed below the state’s who allow this, and the ones who have laws pending. This list will change, stay tuned as the actual number of states may seem small right now, but we’ll continue to update it as more states start to allow out-of-state documentation.

  • New York (legislation proposed and pending)
  • Arizona
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Nevada
  • Oregon
  • New Hampshire (only state allows 2 ounces every 14 days total, all other’s allow 2.5 ounces)
  • Rhode Island
  • California (unclear)