New Hampshire is about to decriminalize marijuana possession.
That’s because New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu signed a bill on Tuesday that makes it so possessing three-quarters of an ounce of marijuana will be a civil violation that will result in a $100 fine for the first violation, instead of a misdemeanor that can result in prison time and up to $2,000 in fines.
The law takes effect in 60 days, and it’s a major win for marijuana advocates who want to see marijuana decriminalized nationwide.
“The governor deserves credit for his steadfast support of this commonsense reform,” Matt Simon, New England political director for the Marijuana Policy Project, said in a statement. “Unlike his predecessors, who opposed similar proposals, Gov. Sununu appears to understand that ‘Live Free or Die’ is more than just a motto on a license plate.”
Simon noted that New Hampshire’s House has been passing decriminalization bills since 2008, and after much work, the Senate and the Governor have finally agreed to move forward with it. The bill was approved by the House in February (318-36), amended by the Senate in May (17-6) and passed with the amendments by the House in June. Rep. Renny Cushing, D-Hampton, originally introduced the legislation.
“There is no good reason to continue arresting and prosecuting people for marijuana possession,” Simon said. “Marijuana is objectively less harmful than alcohol, and Granite Staters are ready to see it treated that way. A very strong majority of state residents support ending marijuana prohibition altogether.”
Source: The 420 Times
View Original Post